conferences - conference venues and conference facilities in south africa team building and events management south africa follow conference venues sa
You are here: Home > Information on South Africa  > Information on Polokwane

Information on Polokwane, Limpopo Province, South Africa

Conference Venues South Africa brings you information on Polokwane situated in the Limpopo Province of South Africa including information on Facilities and Recreation, Climate, Founding, History Suburbs, Town Planning and Geography.

conference centres Polokwane

Click here for Conference Centres in Polokwane

Polokwane is the capital of the Limpopo province and a city in the Polokwane Local Municipality. It is also commonly referred to by its former name, Pietersburg. Polokwane is a major urban centre and the biggest north of Gauteng.  

Polokwane provides access to diverse wildlife and nature viewing opportunities for ecotourists. The Polokwane Reptile and Bird Park is home to over 280 species of birds. The Polokwane Game Reserve houses various South African species of birdlife, wildlife, and plants in an unspoiled bushveld environment.

The Modjardji Rainforest holds the largest concentration of indigenous cycads in the world. The city is considered the premier hunting destination in South Africa.

Polokwane History

In the 1840s, Voortrekkers under the leadership of Andries Potgieter established Zoutpansbergdorp, a town 100 km to the north west. This settlement had to be abandoned because of clashes with the local tribes. They founded a new town in 1886 and named it Pietersburg in honour of Voortrekker leader Petrus Jacobus Joubert. The British built a concentration camp at Pietersburg during the Boer War to house almost 4,000 Boer women and children. The town officially became a city on April 23, 1992; on February 25, 2005, the government declared the official English name of the city to be the Northern Sotho one, Polokwane. The city was the site of the ANC national conference which saw Jacob Zuma take over as head of the party.

Towns and Suburbs of the Limpopo province of South Africa

Bela-Bela , Ba-Phalaborwa , Hoedspruit , Immerpan, Leeupoort , Lephalele , Louis Trichardt , Mabula Gate, Magoebaskloof , Mokopane , Modimolle , Mookgopong, Musina , Naboomspruit , Nylstroom , Polokwane , Rooiberg , Sibasa , Thabazimbi , Thohayandou , Timbavati , Tshipise , Tzaneen , Vaalwater , Vivo , Waterberg

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap 1 | Sitemap 2


Follow Conference Venues SA on Facebook Follow Conference Venues SA on Twitter Follow Conference Venues SA on Pinterest Follow Conference Venues SA on Linked In Team Building Events Conference Venues SA Youtube Channel