conferences - conference venues and conference facilities in south africa team building and events management south africa follow conference venues sa
You are here: Home > Information on South Africa  > Information on Durban

Information on Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Conference Venues South Africa brings you information on Durban situated in the KwaZulu-Natal Province of South Africa including information on Facilities and Recreation, Climate, Geography, Founding and History.

conference centres Durban

Durban is South Africa’s third largest city. It is the largest city in KwaZulu-Natal and the largest on the east coast of Africa. Durban forms part of the eThekwini metropolitan municipality. Durban is famously as the busiest port in Africa. The city's beaches and warm subtropical climate makes it a major centre for tourism.

Click here for Conference Centres in Durban

Durban is a popular tourist destination, and the busiest container port in Africa. The Golden Mile, as well as Durban at large, offer many tourist attractions, especially for people on vacation from Johannesburg. The city is also a gateway to the national parks, the Drakensberg, and historic sites of Zululand and.

Durban is characterised by a subtropical mild climate with mild moist to dry winters and warm wet summers, which are frost-free. However, some western suburbs get slightly chilly in the winter due to large altitude variations.

The metropolitan area is topographically hilly, with remarkably few flat areas. The western suburbs of Kloof and Hillcrest are significantly higher above sea-level, reaching up to 850 metres at Botha's Hill. Many ravines and gorges are found within the metropolitan area. There is almost no true coastal plain.

History of Durban

According to carbon dating of rock art found in the Drakensberg, the first known inhabitants of the area arrived from the north around 100,000 BC. They were living in the central plains of KwaZulu-Natal until the expansion of Bantu people from the north.

There is no written history of the area before it was first mentioned by Portuguese explorer Vasco da Gama. He landed on the KwaZulu-Natal coast on Christmas in 1497 and named the area Natal, meaning Christmas in Portuguese.

Modern Durban dates from 1824, when a group of 25 men under British Lieutenant F. G. Farewell arrived from the Cape Colony and established a settlement of the Bay of Natal. Accompanying Farewell was an adventurer named Henry Francis Fynn. He was able to befriend the Zulu King Shaka by helping him to recover from a stab wound he suffered in combat. As a token of Shaka's appreciation, he granted Fynn a 25-mile strip of coast.

During a meeting of white residents in Fynn's territory in, 1835, it was decided to build a capital town. They named it d'Urban after Sir Benjamin d'Urban, then governor of the Cape Colony. Voortrekkers established the Republic of Natalia in 1838 just north of Durban, and established a capital at Pietermaritzburg.

Conflict with the Zulu population led to the evacuation of Durban. The Afrikaners finally accepted British annexation in 1844 under military pressure. A British governor was appointed to the region with many settlers emigrating from to the Cape Colony from Europe. The British established a sugar cane industry in the 1860s. The British brought thousands of indentured labourers from, as a result of the importation of Indian labourers, Durban became the largest Asian community in South Africa.

Towns and Suburbs of the KwaZulu-Natal province of South Africa

Amanzimtoti , Assagay, Ballito , Bayala, Beachfront, Bergville , Berea , Bishopstowe , Blythedale , Botha's Hill , Cowies Hill , Curry's Post , Dargle , Drakensberg, Dundee, Durban City , Durban North , Empangeni , Estcourt , Eston , Geluksburg , Gillits , Glenwood , Greyville, Hillcrest , Hilton , Hluhluwe , Howick , Illovo , Inchanga , iSamangaliso Wetlands ,Isandlwana , Ixopo , Kloof , Kokstad , La Lucia , Lake Jozini , Lidgetton , Margate , Marina Beach , Melmoth , Mkuze , Mooi River , Morningside , Mount Edgecombe , Mtunzini , Musgrave , Newcastle , Nottingham Road , Oribi Gorge , Oslo Beach , Paulpietersburg , Pennington , Pietermaritzburg , Pinetown , Pongola , Pongolapoort , Port Edward , Port Shepstone , Richards Bay , Rosetta , Salt Rock , Scottburgh , Southbroom , Spioenkop . St Lucia , St Lucia Wetlands , Sydenham, Ulundi , Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park , Ulundi , Umhlanga Rocks , Umtentweni , Umzumbe, Underberg , Vryheid , Wartburg , Westville , Winkelspruit, Winterton , Zimbali , Zinkwazi Beach

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap 1 | Sitemap 2


Follow Conference Venues SA on Facebook Follow Conference Venues SA on Twitter Follow Conference Venues SA on Pinterest Follow Conference Venues SA on Linked In Team Building Events Conference Venues SA Youtube Channel