conferences - conference venues and conference facilities in south africa team building and events management south africa follow conference venues sa
You are here: Home > Information on South Africa  > Information on Mthatha

Information on Mthatha, Eastern Cape, South Africa

Conference Venues South Africa brings you information on Mthatha situated in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa including information on Facilities and Recreation, Climate, Founding, History Suburbs, Town Planning and Geography.

conference centres Mthatha

Click here for Conference Centres in Mthatha

Mthatha is a town along the banks of the Mthatha River in the King Sabata Dalindyebo Local Municipality in Eastern Cape province of South Africa. The town itself was founded in 1883, but It was originally a military post for the colonial forces in 1882. Mthatha became the leading administrative center of the area, having both Catholic and Anglican cathedrals. Mthatha  also became the seat of the traditional authorities. Mthatha served as the capital of the Transkei bantustan, under the name of Umtata from 1976 to 1994.

Many of South Africa's leaders  including Nelson Mandela  and Walter Sisulu come from this area, and the retired Mandela still lives in his home village of Qunu south of Mthatha. It is the home of one of the three Nelson Mandela Museums which collects, exhibits and interprets key aspects of the story of the life of Nelson Mandela in context. The three historical sites of the museum are all in the locality at Qunu, Mvezo and the Bunga Building in Mthatha itself. In the Bunga Building is the story of the Long Walk to Freedom and an exhibition of the many gifts received by Nelson Mandela on behalf of the South African people

Towns and Suburbs of the Eastern Cape province of South Africa

Addo , Aliwal North , Bathurst , Beachview , Beacon Bay , Bluewater Bay , Cape St Francis , Cintsa , Coffee Bay , Cradock , East London , Gonubie , Graaff Reinet , Grahamstown , Haga Haga , Hogsback , Humewood , Humerail , Jansenville , Jeffreys Bay , Kei Mouth , Kenton-on-Sea , King Williams Town , Kirkwood , Nahoon , Mthatha , Paterson , Port Elizabeth , Port Alfred , Port St Johns , Qolora Mouth , Quigney , Rhodes , Richmond Hill , St Francis Bay , Storms River , Stutterheim , Summerstrand , Sunland , Swartkops , Tsitsikamma , Uitenhage , Walmer

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap 1 | Sitemap 2


Follow Conference Venues SA on Facebook Follow Conference Venues SA on Twitter Follow Conference Venues SA on Pinterest Follow Conference Venues SA on Linked In Team Building Events Conference Venues SA Youtube Channel