conferences - conference venues and conference facilities in south africa team building and events management south africa follow conference venues sa
You are here: Home > Information on South Africa  > Information on Louis Trichardt

Information on Louis Trichardt, Limpopo Province, South Africa

Conference Venues South Africa brings you information on Louis Trichardt situated in the Limpopo Province of South Africa including information on Facilities and Recreation, Climate, Founding, History Suburbs, Town Planning and Geography.

conference centres Louis Trichardt

Click here for Conference Centres in Louis Trichardt

Louis Trichardt is a town situated at the foot of the Soutpansberg mountain range in the Bushveld region of the Limpopo province. It is the centre of the Makhado Local Municipality. Louis Trichardt is located in a fertile region where bananas, litchis, nuts and mangoes are produced. The national highway N1 runs through the town. Louis Trichardt was known as Makhado for a short period.



Louis Trichardt History

Like many other towns in South Africa, Louis Trichardt had its origins in Voortrekker settlement of the area. Two groups of Trekkers reached the Soutpansberg mountain range in 1836, one under the leadership of Louis Tregardt and another under Hans van Rensburg. Van Rensburg decided to take his group towards Lourenço Marques, now Maputo, Mozambique, but his entire party was killed en route.

Trichardt and his group stayed near the mountain, camping near what eventually became the town of Louis Trichardt. They planted crops and started exploring the area northwards in an attempt to locate Van Rensburg and his group. After spending a year in the area, they decided to head for Lourenço Marques, a journey that took them 7 months to complete during which more than half the group perished, including Trichardt himself. Other trekkers soon settled in the area, clashing with the Venda people who dwelt there. The town of Louis Trichardt was finally founded in February 1899.

Towns and Suburbs of the Gauteng province of South Africa

Bela-Bela , Ba-Phalaborwa , Hoedspruit , Immerpan, Leeupoort , Lephalele , Louis Trichardt , Mabula Gate, Magoebaskloof , Mokopane , Modimolle , Mookgopong, Musina , Naboomspruit , Nylstroom , Polokwane , Rooiberg , Sibasa , Thabazimbi , Thohayandou , Timbavati , Tshipise , Tzaneen , Vaalwater , Vivo , Waterberg

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap 1 | Sitemap 2


Follow Conference Venues SA on Facebook Follow Conference Venues SA on Twitter Follow Conference Venues SA on Pinterest Follow Conference Venues SA on Linked In Team Building Events Conference Venues SA Youtube Channel