conferences - conference venues and conference facilities in south africa team building and events management south africa follow conference venues sa
You are here: Home > Information on South Africa > Information on Gauteng   > Gauteng Education

Gauteng Education

Information on education in the Gauteng province brought to you by Conference Venues South Africa including information on Tshwane University of Technology, University of Johannesburg, University of Pretoria, University of South Africa, Vaal University of Technology, University of the Witwatersrand and Monash University.

gauteng education

Gauteng is known as a centre of learning in South Africa and has several universities and schools of higher learning. Gauteng Department of Education is embarking on a plan to produce fully functional ICT laboratories to all public schools in the Gauteng province; the name of this project is Gauteng OnLine.

Tshwane University of Technology
This higher education institution is a merger of three Technikons namely: Technikon North-West, Technikon Pretoria and Technikon Northern Gauteng. Records show that Tshwane University of Technology caters for approximately 60 000 students. It is the biggest higher education institution in the South Africa and comprises up to six well-equipped campuses to meet the needs of different communities. These campuses include Soshanguve, Pretoria West, Witbank, Ga-Rankuwa, Polokwane and Nelspruit. The Faculties of Natural Sciences and Arts have dedicated campuses in the Pretoria city centre.

University of Johannesburg
The University of Johannesburg came into existence in 2005 through a merger between RAU and the Technikon Witwatersrand; Soweto and Daveyton campuses of the Vista University had been incorporated into the Rand Afrikaans University before that. The University of Johannesburg is South Africa’s largest contact university, with nine faculties spread over five different campuses.

University of Pretoria
The University of Pretoria to date has produced more research outputs every year than any other higher education institution in the country since 1997. Approximately a quarter of all matriculating students, graduating with university exemption nationally, apply for admission at the university. Around 30% of students, graduating with six distinctions or more, enrol at The University of Pretoria. In its more than a century of educational service it has delivered over 200 000 alumni and has become the largest contributor to graduates in South Africa.

University of South Africa (UNISA)
The University of South Africa also known as UNISA is a distance education university, with headquarters in Pretoria, South Africa. With approximately 200,000 enrolled students, it qualifies as one of the world's mega universities.

Vaal University of Technology
The tertiary institution, Vaal University of Technology, attracts students from all over the country. With about 15,000 students, it is one of the largest residential universities of technology. The campus and facilities are conducive to learning, recreation, research and art, culture and sport, and community service. It has laboratories, a number of auditoriums, lecture halls and office space situated on 46 000 square metres. Four Satellite campuses expand services to Klerksdorp, Kempton Park, Upington, and Secunda. Besides the four faculties, various departments assist the students, catering for their needs. The convenient secure complex, Riverbend Gardens, provide safe accommodation to students from VUT and Northwest University.

University of the Witwatersrand
The University of the Witwatersrand is a leading university situated in the northern areas of Johannesburg and is more commonly known as Wits University. The Extension of University Education Act forced restricted registrations of African students for most of the apartheid era; despite this, several prominent black leaders graduated from the university. Several of apartheid's most provocative critics, of either European or African descent, were students and graduates of the university.

Monash University
Monash University was opened in 2001and was the first foreign university established in South Africa. It is located in Ruimsig in the northwest of Johannesburg. The campus is home to many students from other African countries who are funded by government bursaries and a number of students from Botswana attend the university. The students on exchange from Monash's Malaysian and Australian campuses makes this one of the most ethnically diverse universities in Africa with many students living on campus.


Home | About Us | Contact Us | Sitemap 1 | Sitemap 2


Follow Conference Venues SA on Facebook Follow Conference Venues SA on Twitter Follow Conference Venues SA on Pinterest Follow Conference Venues SA on Linked In Team Building Events Conference Venues SA Youtube Channel